Image from: http://www.catherineseven.com/tag/web-design/

Well, my journey to figuring out where to find participants who use Yammer has taken and interesting turn. If you recall, Yammer offered to reach out to their clients–but what if they aren’t interested? The Adoption 2.0 Council would be a good Yammer group to study–but what if they aren’t interested either? I needed something more, I needed to find a pool of people who I could feel certain would provide enough participants.

Then it dawned on me… I did a Google search for: People who use Yammer and a bunch of links came up to blogs where people are talking about Yammer, etc… All people I could reach out to, all people who can point me to others who I can reach out to, using the snowball sampling method. In addition, some people have reached out to me after reading my blog. Finally, I can post my request for participants on my blog, my Twitter, my LinkedIn, my Face Book, and even send messages to the groups I belong to, such as ASTD, etc… I am certain I can dig up approximately 20 participants in this manner.

I can’t believe it! I am ready to go with my proposal! The next posts you will read will be the process of me putting together my proposal to submit to my advisor, then hopefully get approval, submit to IRB (the Institutional Review Board–because I will need IRB approval to get my research published), and then I can begin interviewing Yammer users and collecting valuable data.

Thanks to everyone who has helped me get this far!

